Your Name Means _______

1 04 2008

Let’s write about you for a second. Think about your name for a minute. What if you lived during Biblical times? Would your name be in the Bible? If so, what would it say? ______ was a honest person. _______ treated their dates with respect. ______ was a loyal person. _____ loved their spouse faithfully. ______ made a difference in a lot of lives. _____ was a liar. _____ stole from many. _____ spent their times playing video games. _______ never amounted to much.  This thought came to me during lunch. I was reading Genesis, figured it was as good as any chapter to dig into while munching on a snack bar. I usually skip the verses that say, “such a such was born to such a such was born to….” you get the idea (you can admit it too!). Well this time I actually read through the names (course in my mind I am imagning what it was like for their school teachers taking attendance!). I came across Enoch in Genesis 5:24. It says, “Enoch walked faithfully with God…”. The rest of the names didn’t have anything special, just who their daddy was and how old they were. I sat there & wondered what it would be like to be Enoch’s neighbor….to see what he did to have the words, “walked faithfully” & “with God” in the same sentence. Course my mind didn’t stop there….what would it be like to have that sorta title beside my name. Robbie walked faithfully with God. Am I doing that? I am trying! What about your name? What would be, beside your name? I am a long way from being able to say that, but it’s a great journey! 


Actions

Information

Leave a comment